Meeting Yoga

In a mere 3 years working on a desk-bound job, my body has taken a toll for more than I expected.

My mobility is crap. My hips and hamstrings are hopelessly tight, my right shoulder clicks all the time, and my wrists are both on the verge of snapping (at least that’s how it feels like). Let’s face it – I can’t squat down properly to pick up a pen nor I could sit long enough to feel my back begging for mercy.Sitting in a bad posture in front of the computer is bad, the only consolation is that I realised the necessity to do something about it at this very moment.It constantly felt like I am physically crippling away before its time. To be really honest, the thought is pretty scary. I mean, I literally can’t even scratch my back with my right hand. It could be worse, I agree, but I would like to do something about it right now.

Sitting in a bad posture in front of the computer is bad, the only consolation is that I realised the necessity to do something about it at this very moment.It constantly felt like I am physically crippling away before its time. To be really honest, the thought is pretty scary. I mean, I literally can’t even scratch my back with my right hand. It could be worse, I agree, but I would like to do something about it right now.

It constantly felt like I am physically crippling away before its time. To be really honest, the thought is pretty scary. I mean, I literally can’t even scratch my back with my right hand. It could be worse, I agree, but I would like to do something about it right now.

That’s when I met yoga in the wondrous land of YouTube.

Yoga postures look feasible, like a movement which your body suppose to work. Performing them, however, was a different story altogether. The more I try, the more I notice on the state of my body. The tightness, the sore points and the various problems that I have never realised before.

The worst nightmare in beginner yoga pose is the Downward Dog. I feel extremely awkward in that position. My hips are not high enough, my legs are not straight enough, my wrists are in pain and my heels are not on the floor. And we are not even talking about other poses yet. Yoga practice focuses on the state of your body and the awareness pushes you forward in improving day by day.  Let’s keep this going for now, and I will get there eventually.

Take a deep breath and release.

 

 

Leave a Reply

