Backpacking

It seems there are less Asians commit themselves into around the world backpacking, I suppose currency exchange made an impact on the possibilities and the decision making process itself. Or rather, those backpackers simply just didn’t write about it. 

It fascinates me.

The idea that there are so many things out there, with so many distinctive culture and the ever alluring geographically specific delicacies that you just couldn’t get anywhere else. The last trip I took to Hong Kong alone for five days, the trip before that to Seoul for two weeks during my very  first winter as well as the trip even before that – to Phuket, for five days on a motorcycle adventure around the island. I couldn’t get over it. Before I knew it, I get antsy and bored pretty often. 

However, this has significant impact on my financial condition. I’m not from a wealthy family, but it was not as bad to the extent that I have to work to support my family. We are average and we would argue for a decision to eat out, watch a movie or go for a trip because we simply do not have the excess to spend RM500 over the weekend just like that. There’s a housing loan to be paid, there’re tuition fees for me and sister, there’s a business to be taken care of. 

(Maybe that’s the reason for my unstoppable travel desire.)

But if you want it bad enough, you will be able to make it happen. That is what I strongly believe. If you have the will to travel, you will be able to find a way to save that money and just go. Travelling has remarkable influences on a person, eventually you start to perceive things, people and places differently. The sudden realisation of life goals during the trip and you will never be the same again. 

By graduation at the end of 2014, I will save enough for my backpack trip to Europe. It bugs me when I think about the currency exchange rate but it have to be done. In two years time, I will be sitting in a café at Paris, getting lost in London, and hopefully all for one month and beyond. It will all depend on how much I ultimately can save. 

It’s time to go, I am getting restless already. 

Leave a Reply

